Christ Arose


21123This morning is Easter  – Resurrection Sunday.  Today many are celebrating with chocolate rabbits and hunts for colored eggs as well as remembering what happened that day some 2,000 years ago when Christ rose from the grave that briefly held him.  This morning many will be in church to hear the story and to sing the songs we all know and love that tell us about the victory that took place that morning.

One of the songs I hope to sing this morning is one of my favorites.  It was written over 100 years ago by Dr. Robert Lowry, a Baptist Pastor, college chancellor, and composer.  Lowry was known for many hymns that he had written, including, “Shall We Gather at the River” and “Nothing but the Blood of Jesus.”  He said in his later years that he wished he was better known as a pastor than a composer, but I think he was not aware of the impact of his music that would continue to echo beyond his life.  The theology and doctrine in his music is strong, and his words are vivid.

The hymn he wrote that I hope to sing this morning is “Christ Arose.”

Low in the grave He lay, Jesus my Savior.Waiting the coming day, Jesus my Lord.

Up from the grave He arose,
With a mighty triumph o’er His foes,
He arose a Victor from the dark domain,
And He lives forever, with His saints to reign.
He arose! He arose!
Hallelujah! Christ arose!

Easter is not about the candy, the rabbits, or the eggs.  It is about the victory Christ had over death.  When He died on the cross He paid for our sins, and what a miraculous sacrifice that was, but the death was nothing without the resurrection that took place three days later!  Without the resurrection of Christ there would be no victory over death.  We who trust in His name now have freedom to live!

The gifts I have been given through the death, burial and resurrection of Christ are the driving forces in a Relentless Life.  I have been given so much, and it is now my response to bring Him honor and glory for what He did for me!

Hallelujah!  Christ Arose!

Presentation2

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

