The Trinity and Grace – Grace Part 2


Last year I was asked to help in writing a book of devotionals for our church campaign on grace. It was the first time I had been asked to write something for a book, and I really appreciated the opportunity. I have decided to post these devotionals every other day over the next couple of weeks. I hope you enjoy them and that they make you think about the wonders of the grace of God.

You can see the previous post by clicking the Link below:

0e2858935_1391320609_sermon-image-02022014-the-love-and-peace-of-the-triune-godGalatians 4:6 – And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!”

Growing up in church and Christian school I was taught about the Trinity form an early age.  One God in three distinct parts all being equal in power.  The Trinity has been a source of argument for centuries as people try to nail down exactly how God could be complete and whole, but separate and distinct.  As a kid it was REALLY confusing, and these were my impressions on the “breakdown” of the triune God:

  • God the Father – We know He loved us because He sent His Son, but looking through the Old Testament, He was not a person that you wanted to upset. Much of the teaching I heard as a kid at church and school went so far as to make me feel threatened at all times by His wrath if I stepped out of line.
  • God the Son – He died on the cross for our sins after living a perfect life. His death gave you salvation, and you should try to live like He did.  You won’t be able to do it, but you should do your best to do it because if you don’t, see above…
  • God the Spirit – ? Well, think of it like your conscience… Something nobody really seemed to understand, but they knew it was there to help us and it could keep us out of trouble.  Again, see above…

As  I said in the last post, grace is a good gift given to someone who does not deserve it.  Taking that definition and looking at the Trinity, you can start to see where grace flows through each part of the Trinity all the way down to us as His creation.  Each member of the Trinity acts to bestow grace on us independently, in their own distinct way.  This verse speaks of  each member of the Trinity, and when we look at the members of the Trinity and what we know of them, we can see how they use grace in their own distinct way in order to reach into our hearts and lives.

  • God the Father shows grace to us as a father who provides for His own. We sinned, and while His holiness demands separation, His love extends the gift of eternal life.  Not only did He send His Son, He calls us sons if we have put our faith in Him.  We can approach God Himself as a child approaches his father!  That is amazing!
  • God the Son created us (John 1:1-3), and while His creation chose self over Him, He showed grace in giving His perfect blood for us and in giving us a Helper.
  • God the Holy Spirit is our Helper. More than a conscience, the Spirit is there to facilitate change in our hearts through promptings and patience.  Where we are weak it gives strength; where we have failed, it allows us another chance.  It also provides us the power to live as God intended – fully alive for His service and glory! A gift from God that we do not deserve for the expressed purpose of growing us in our relationship with God.

I wonder sometimes if the reason we didn’t learn much about the Holy Spirit back then was because there was not a focus on how grace is a gift that is for life rather than just for salvation.  We were saved by grace, but then we were told to follow the law.  In truth, we were saved by grace, and then brought into a life where we obey God through the grace He gives us to do so.  The Holy Spirit in us is, in my opinion, the greatest expression of grace.  You cannot understand the Holy Spirit if you do not understand grace.  A perfect gift (the Spirit of God) in our imperfect bodies.

  • How do you see the members of the Trinity?
  • How do you see the grace of each part working in you?

Father, You are a God of grace in all your being.  Thank You for showing it to me through all three parts of the Trinity.  Help me embrace that grace in service to You.

Grace is what makes Relentless Growth possible.  I fail almost daily, but through God’s grace I am encouraged by His Spirit to get up and go again.  I am inspired by the example of Christ, and I am compelled to obey my heavenly Father to bring Him glory for what He has done for me.

Presentation2

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

1 thought on “The Trinity and Grace – Grace Part 2”

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

