Just Breathe…


img_20160218_110849.jpgAnyone following my Instagram feed will see that I am not at home right now.  Tammi and I are in Florida for the remainder of this week and all of next to see some of our good friends and for me to do some training for my job.  I know, suffering in Florida in the month of February is not going to garner a lot of happy feelings from those back home where I hear it was -11 degrees last night.  I’d feel bad for them, but can’t hear their cries of woe over the sound of the crashing surf.  Wow, I am a snot today!

This morning I sat outside having my quiet time (in my shorts and t-shirt with no socks or shoes with the 70 degree sun on my back) and enjoyed reading about the freedom I have in Christ.  It got me thinking about the feeling of bondage I have been living in a lot lately.

God has been doing some work in my heart regarding working with stress and identifying the source of the stress in order to deal with the problem rather than just coping with the symptoms.  The problem I have is that too often the problem is me!  I have been doing better, but this trip is giving me an opportunity to regroup a little bit and do something I don’t usually take the time to do…

Just Breathe

img_20160218_075104.jpgYeah.  That’s a big thing for me.  I know I need it, but I don’t make a priority to do it.  I find myself being so busy sometimes that when I let just one or two things go I get a false feeling of relief.  A false feeling because I am just less busy instead of really busy.

David tells us what we need to know in Psalm 46:10a:

 

“Be still and know that I am God”

The thing about being still is that you have to be still.  David doesn’t say, “Be less still” or “Be mildly interested”, he says to “Be still.”  Well, when you are still, and I mean really still, you maybe surprised at what you might hear.

This morning, Tammi and I sat out at that table (in the sun, in our shorts and t-shirts) and I told her that I was so FOCUSed on enjoying this time that we are away and FOCUSing on being intentionally relaxed.  I have nothing on my schedule until 9am on Monday, and I intend to be relaxed in every moment.  I want to take the time to just breathe and enjoy myself and my time with her.

Not to make the rubbing any worse, but this afternoon we went to the beach for a couple hours and just sat there listening to the wind and the surf.  I tipped back in my chair, closed my eyes and just let the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves wash over me.  I just listened and relaxed as the sun warmed my face.

img_20160218_155704.jpgBefore long I realized that I was fully involved in prayer.  It was a reflexive prayer that was happening before I even knew I was doing it.  The prayer was not born out of a desire to speak to God, but from a moment of complete peace. Peace brought me into His presence. In that moment when I put my FOCUS on relaxing I see now that God had every intention of pulling my FOCUS toward a conversation with Him.

End result?  I had a very good day.  Even though I set out for nothing more than relaxation, I had a day where I experienced a step in Relentless Growth.  They sneak up on you when you take the time to just breathe and be still.

Presentation2

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

