Serving Closer to Home


1424375067663-2My wife and I found something out about ourselves a few years ago.  We love camp ministry.  Not just camping, but camp ministry.  We knew that our kids loved camp, but it was not until we started attending Bible Baptist in TC that we were able to get more involved in camp  ministry by becoming Camp Captains at Lake Ann Camp.  It was a great opportunity to get to know the kids in our church better and to give them opportunities to go to summer camp where they could have opportunities to grow spiritually and as individuals.

For the last five years, we have been doing that, and it has been a wild ride.  We have seen kids come to Christ, new relationships formed, accountability increase in the teens, and an excitement about camp grow as well.  God blessed the kids in our church greatly through that ministry, and we give God glory for it.

We have also seen a lot of changes in the camp and the people that we worked with.  We were able to build friendships with staff that were strong even though we did not have a ton of time to spend with them unless we were at camp with the groups.  It has been hard to say goodbye to many of them, but we rejoice in the short time we spent with them.

As this year was starting up, an opportunity began to present itself that would allow us to be a part of a camp ministry closer to home.  Less than 5 miles from home!  Needless to say we were excited about the chance to do so.  As things started to come together, we came to the conclusion that we will not have the time to support two camps with our time, and we would really love to be able to spend more time at the camp just down the road.

God has brought some of our best friends to this camp to serve as well, and while it is very different from Lake Ann, we see it as a very relevant way of doing camp ministry, and we are all really excited to see what God is going to do with it over the next couple of years.

So many details are still being worked out, but I thought it was time to say publicly that I will now be a part of ministry at Starwood Ranch here in Kalkaska.  I look forward to being able to be there as much as possible to help out and be used by God however He sees fit. You can expect to hear more about it as we get further into things.

A chapter of life has come to an end, but I am excited to see what God has in store for the next one.  It’s gonna be great!

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

2 thoughts on “Serving Closer to Home”

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

