Probably Time To Get This Wart Removed


IMG_0141.JPG

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:6-7

We are currently on a much needed vacation in Florida, and I can honestly say that am completely chilled out! It has been a long time since I have been able to enjoy this much time away from work, and I have come face to face with the fact that I need to make sure I don’t wait this long again!

Before we left, my wife was telling me that it was so nice to be able to stop worrying and just relax after her last shift ended. I told her that I will not stop worrying until we are at the hotel. She asked why, and I said that is just the way I am. I worry about things. I know it is wrong, but I do it anyway. One could even argue that it is just the way God made me, but that would be an invalid argument.

When I read the verses above this week in my devotional time, I had a thought hit me right between the eyes. I have heard people say that worry is a sin because it takes God out of the picture, but it never really hit home the way it should. As I thought about worry the other day though, I realized something:

Worry is NOT a part of how God designed us!

Back in the Garden of Eden, God made a man and a woman and He gave them everything they needed. They had food to eat, a job to do, and fellowship with their Creator. Nothing existed to worry about. All needs were met, and everything was literally “perfect”.

You don’t read that Adam worried about finding a mate. You read that God saw it was not good for him to be alone. You do not read that Adam worried about irrigation for the Garden, you read that a mist came up from the ground. You do not read that Adam and Eve worried about friends, they had each other and God.

Then you read about the fall, and the worry starts immediately. Sin brought worry with it. Plain and simple. You could say that there was not a need for worry since it was perfect, but honestly, I believe that we were not designed for it.

Think about the adverse affects of worry on the body. Ulcers, hair loss, high blood pressure, stroke, heart attack, depression. These things should stand as proof that worry is not a good thing for our bodies. If worry was a good thing then our bodies would actually thrive from it, but they don’t. Worry slowly kills.

What is the antidote? Getting close to God. The closer we are to Him, the better we see His hands at work. The easier it is to see His love and comfort in the tempest. The easier it is to feel the protection of the one and only omnipotent God. Whom shall I fear? If I am where I should be, nobody and nothing!

This doesn’t mean that everything will always feel wonderful, but it is a promise that God will clear the worry, anxiety, and fear from our minds and replace it with peace, comfort, and confidence if we just draw near to Him and take our problems to Him first rather than trying to solve them ourselves.

There is an old hymn that echoes this facet of a Relentless life:

“Only trust Him, only trust Him,
Only trust Him now.
He will save you, He will save you,
He will save you now.”

Sounds too simple, but that is how God works. Just like our salvation comes from simply believing we are sinners with a need of God’s forgiveness and recognizing Him as Lord. God doesn’t want to confuse us in these important things.

How about you? First of all, do you want to avoid worry? Then I ask if you know God. If you don’t then that is the first step. After that, it is all about staying close enough to Him that your problems cannot be allowed to be seen as bigger than they really are.

Relentless Growth -> Grow Deep -> Grow Strong

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

