Happy Birthday, Tammi! I Love You!


We have moments in our lives that shape us, define us, change our paths. I think it is important to recognize those moments and reflect on their significance because when we do, we see how good God is to us.

For me, one of those moments took place before I was born.  Today is the anniversary of the day my wife was born, and I am so blessed by the changes in my life that have come as a result of her birth. So, I want to take a few minutes and tell her how much she means to me.

10534681_10204206015501628_1184979595712247813_nTammi,

It is so weird to think back on life and realize that even though I had 18 years of it before we began to date, I can’t remember much of my life that didn’t have you in it!  We met as kids, and now 23 years have passed with us as a couple.  I often think about how God brought us together, an d it makes me smile to think that He had a plan that would make so many people scratch their heads early on.

In you I see so many good and wonderful gifts that God has put in you, and I want to take a moment and tell you about a few of them. couple

Your Smile

Tammi, your smile brightens my days more than you will ever know, and it does the same for so many other people as well.  You have been given this gift of being able to lighten the mood in a room with that smile.  God has used it to bring reassurance to people who are nervous or upset.  You show the joy that is in you whenever you smile and your eyes get that little twinkle in them.

Your Heart

Your capacity to love and to show concern for others is the gift in you that I most admire.  God has put an ability in you to hear the heart of anyone you are talking to and you don’t stop with hearing it.  You genuinely care.  You care in a way that I am not wired to do, and it absolutely blows me away.  I am learning from you to be more caring and interested in others, and I am so glad that God gave me a teacher like you, because you are a natural in it.

BeautyYour Love

You are my wife, and I am so thankful that I get to share that with you and all that it entails as a husband, and as parents of our kids.  You make our house into a home with your love.  You are so busy, but you are always able to show us the love we need in even the most hectic of times.  I know you don’t feel that way too many times, but I assure you that we feel it.  Think about how our kids never go a day without several hugs and words of love from you.  You show your love in the things you do, the words you say, and again, the smile on your face.Tammi and kids

Your Dreams

Yes, I said your dreams.  In spite of all of the work they have created over the years, your dreams have brought our family so much joy.  As a result of those dreams we have a beautiful home, we have amazing flowerbeds, we have animals – lots and lots of animals… Your dreams have brought more than that though.  Your ability to dream has brought out mine as well, and God is using those dreams in shaping our future.  There are so many things that God has done in our lives as a result of dreams, but I love how we are both looking around in anticipation of what He might do next.  I absolutely love dreaming with you.

tnt2Your Promise

That you are my wife is the thing I love about you the most.  We will be married for twenty years next month, and through all the crazy times of getting to know each other as a couple, learning to understand each other as a couple, how to resolve things as a couple, and learning how to almost everything as a couple, I have had your promise to stick with me.  Even when I might not have been very “stick with worthy”.  Your dedication to improving our marriage as a team has made me love you even more.  I thank God for you every single day, and I can’t thank Him enough for you an your love.  You are the most “Very Good Thing” in my life.

Happy Birthday, Honey.  You are phenomenal, and you are a blessing to us as well as anyone else who really knows you!IMG_0371

Love you,

Tom

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

