A Letter to My Family


Tammi, Jessica, and Zachary,

I just put a comment up on Facebook to let a friend of ours know that I pray for her every day. I do that as a part of my praying for the 5 guys that I pray for specifically throughout the week. I pray for those men and their family members every day.  As I hit the button to put that comment out there, I realized something.

922849_10200744910803600_726389388_n I never tell you guys that I am praying for you every day. My own family. Why do I not tell you that? I do it, but I don’t know that I have ever told you that I do pray for you.

1148826_10203363343835363_1171911152_nTammi, I pray for you as you are still navigating the waters of a new job with all of the unknown things that come your way. I pray for your internal struggle of working outside the house after being able to be a mostly-at-home-mom for most of our kids’ lives. I pray for your heart and for our relationship to keep growing stronger. I praise God for your deepening love for Him and your desire to be excellent for His service as a believer, a wife, a mom, a friend, and a co-worker.

976680_10201072573874972_419384034_o Jessica, I pray for your last year of school! For wisdom as you are preparing for the next steps in your life. I pray that you will find that right guy in God’s timing, and that He will love you even more than I do! I pray that you will find God’s leading hand as you do the things that he has laid on your heart. I praise God for your purity, for your smile, for your heart for kids, for how you are growing into a woman as beautiful inside and out as your mom, and for your desire to know God more and your willingness to be used by Him.

1000146_10200993760344683_970985934_nLast, but not least, Zachary, I pray for you as you are becoming a man that I look forward to calling my friend. I pray that you will continue to stand for the things that you believe, that you will stay sensitive to the direction that God has for you. I pray that you will use the talents He has given you for His glory and that your hunger for His Word will continue to grow as you realize more and more how much you need him. I praise God for your kind heart, ready smile, your sense of humor, willingness to grow in things God puts in front of you, and that you are a better man at almost 15 than I was at 18.

You three people are my gift from God, and I do not tell you that in words like this often enough. I tell you all I love you every day, and I do. I am so thankful for you all, and I just wanted to tell you that today.

Just wanted to put that out there.  Love you guys!

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

