Happy Birthday to You…


Birthday Cupcake With Lit CandleWell, the day is here.  Relentless Growth is one year old today.  I know that it probably has not shown up on many calendars as any type of national spectacle, but it has happened just the same.  So, what does this mean?

For most of the world, not a whole lot!  For a few, it means that they have had an opportunity to wade through some of the stuff that falls out of my head.  (A lot of which seemed to be about trees) For me, it means something else entirely.

It means that I have stuck with this for a year.  

When I started this blog I was not really sure what I wanted to do with it.  Part of me wanted to be able to reach out to people and connect with them through writing.  I wanted to find new ways to relate and I had hoped that through comments I would get to know some new people and share some thoughts.  That didn’t really happen.  I have gotten to know a few people, but the numbers have been lower than I had thought they would be.

I thought that I had a great plan for how I wanted the blog to look.  I had a name, a palette, what I thought was a nifty tag line, and a killer theme!  I thought that would be a fantastic draw to bring people in so I could get to know them better.  Well, that didn’t really last.  There were lots of changes through the year until I settled (at least for now) on how things look today.

I thought that I was a good writer.  Well, one thing I have learned as the year has worn on is that there are a lot of people out there who are a LOT better at this than I am.  If I am subscribing to one of your blogs you may be one of them!  I have realized that I am a babe in the woods, and I’m really digging into the things you do and how you express yourselves in your writing.  I hope I am learning well…

I thought I could use this blog as a soapbox from time to time.  We all need a place to crow and let our voice be heard, right?  Well, I recently read a great blog about that.  It put a little egg on my face, and I am really going to be thinking about that for awhile.  I see now that if I am going to do this, I need to ask myself why I am writing what I am writing.  What is the goal?

I thought a lot about the promotion of my blog.  I would check in constantly to look at my stats. Seeing that country map fill in with color was the highlight of my day.  Look I got another reader!  Look, I just hit a new record for daily hits!  Look, I got another award or a notification! Wow.

One thing I never thought about is how writing a blog could make me feel narcissistic. 

I never gave it a second thought that the results of my “readership” would make that much of a difference in my day.  I realized about a month and a half ago that it really did make a difference in my day.  Rarely a good one.

Right about that time I gave the blog one more overhaul for theme, colors, banner background, title, and tag line.  I love it.  Not because I finally have the right combination for reaching across the web to the teeming masses.  I probably don’t have that combination locked in yet.  I found MY theme.

Relentless Growth.  It is more than a title.  It is a life plan.  The unstoppable desire to grow and never give up positive change in order to just maintain the status quo.  Get up. Dust off. Regrip. Hit it again.  This blog is no longer about those other things.  It is now a place where I can share my highs and lows as I continue to attack life.

As I continue to study through the book of Ephesians over the next “who knows how long”, I am going to share the things that God is revealing to me for my growth.  Knowing now that the book is primarily about finding our identity in Christ is opening my eyes to new ways to apply it in my heart, mind, and life.

I’m not sure if more people are going to read this blog.  I have finally come to terms with the fact that readership numbers are not the goal.  The purpose in taking the time to write is to improve my skills in sharing the changing power of God in my life.  This is just a small way to reach out to others, but it still does it.

My prayer is that God will use it.  I may never know if it really touches anyone.  I may never know if there has been a change in a life because someone identified with a struggle I shared.  I might never gain a follower again or even pick up a reader or a view, but I will continue to share the story.  It’s not my story.

It’s the story of Christ in me, and me in Him.

I hope this has encouraged you to take minute and think about who you are in God.  Who do you think you are?  Would you want to know if you were wrong?

Happy B-Day, Relentless Growth.  May you have many more.

In HIS Grip,

Tom

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

