In This Corner…


Kevin-Keigley-Buffet (1)But may all who search for You be filled with joy and gladness.  May those who love Your salvation repeatedly shout, “The Lord is great!”  As for me, I am poor and needy, but the Lord is thinking about me right now.  You are my helper and my savior. Do not delay, O my God.

–          Psalm 40:16-17

2013 is coming to a close.  It is that time of year when we sit down and take an inventory of how our year went and what we would like to think about for the coming year.  Sometimes we are happy with our results, and other times…

Well, overall, I have had a very good year.  Tammi and I are happier than we have ever been, and we just celebrated our 20th CHRISTmas as a married couple.  Amazing how time flies when you are having fun, and we are!  Our kids are doing well and we are proud to see how they are not only growing physically, but also spiritually.  It has been so awesome to see God stretch each of them through experiences this past year.

Well, there is one area that I want to focus on for this next year.  I am not positive, but I think I have managed (with some variation over the course of the year) to maintain my unhealthy weight.  I can tell you, it wasn’t always easy.  There were some very hard times where I had to get through serious indigestion, discomfort while tying my shoes, and sweating while eating.  Through it all, I managed to persevere and stay in the game.

Why is that?  I know that there have been a lot of times that I tried to talk myself out of some of the food choices I was making, but I turned a deaf ear to my own advice.  Well, maybe it wasn’t a deaf ear.  My wife says I chew very loudly, so maybe I just didn’t hear…

No, that wasn’t it.  I know the reason.  I love food.  Really. I love it! I think that at times it has gone too far, and I have made it my god.  I joke about that at times, but it really isn’t very funny.  Some days I have given food far more thought, attention, study, and adoration than I have given God.  Not  something I am proud of.

I don’t want to be cliché or anything, but I am really beginning a new focus in this area this year.  I will be going to see the doc in a few weeks, and I have a goal for that appointment.  After that, I have a goal in mind for my 41st B-Day in May and then another for September and one for year end.

Why?  Well, I want to be healthier, for one.  I’m 40, and I am much more aware of blood pressure and cholesterol than I was 10 years ago.  If I don’t pay attention to it I might not need to bother in another 10 years!  My health is important so I am available for my family, but it isn’t the most important reason.

The most important reason is that I want to be filled with God.  I want to be filled with His joy as it says in the verse above.  I am poor and needy in this area, and it really gives me strength to think that God is thinking about me as I work on this.  It won’t be easy.  It will be very hard at times.  I know I will need to work hard on this, and that I will sometimes fail.  As I sit here and write this I am surrounded by food at a family gathering.  I guess this is the first challenge.  There will be more.  Too many more.

I know that there will be those who will help me with accountability.  Some will not need to be asked, as they will read this as an invitation to get in my business from time to time.  I will need to ask a few others.  I feel good knowing that I have people who care enough to do it.

So, there is a Relentless Growth for 2014.  To remove my stomach from the throne of my life and put my Lord and Savior on it instead.  I will probably post a couple other goals over the next few days as well.  If I don’t write them down, then I am the only one checking up on me!

Be relentless!

In HIS Grip,

Tom

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

