Meanderings


Brook

Proverbs 18:2 – A fool does not delight in understanding, But only in revealing his own mind.

This verse hit me like an axe handle to the head yesterday when I read it.  Hmmm. Reading it again now, should I be blogging about it?  Well, I think it is okay for the circumstances.  I like to read the passages in the Bible that talk about the fools.  It is kinda like one of those little games where you have to find a person you know to fit into all of the different categories.  “Oh, this fool would be ___________”!  Yeah, I know, not a very nice thing to do, and I’m sure I am the only one that has ever done it.  I’ll wait while we all pray for forgiveness…

Reading this yesterday I was immediately struck by my own sin though.  I like to be heard, and I like people to understand me more than I want to understand them.  It hurts when you see something about yourself that requires a change so bluntly said.  The nice thing is that God loves me enough to give me His Word to remind me about my struggle in this area.  I need to be more caring toward others, to listen to their thoughts, their struggles, and their opinions.  I think God is using this verse to point out a real weakness in my life that He wants to use.  He knows me, and that means He knows how deep this is ingrained in me, so that means He is prepared for the long haul as I learn to master this weakness with His help.

Dad-Life

I’ve got two great kids at home, and I am excited to see what God is going to do in their lives.  My daughter is such a sweet, beautiful girl (yes, much like her mother!) and she has such a heart for God! My son is growing so fast.  He is tall, lean, and a good looking kid (again, thankful for my wife’s DNA) and he loves to use his talent at the guitar in the praise band at church.  I don’t know what I did to deserve two kids as great as this.  Frankly, at times it scares me.

I’ve had a couple of things come up recently that remind me that I need to be more intentional as a Dad.  I know I am with my kids more than a lot of Dads get to be with their kids, and I am thankful for that.  We do fun things together, go on trips, eat meals, watch movies, and a lot of other stuff too.  Those are important things, and I know that it will provide them some great memories one day to share with their kids.  Is it enough?  I don’t think so.

It is time for me to step up my game.  The stark reality is that I have a quickly dwindling amount of time with my kids at home.  I need to be more Relentless about putting the Truth of God’s Word into their hearts and minds.  I need to be a better model of what a man is for my daughter so she will find a good man of her own!  I need to be a biblical model of a man for my son so he see what he should be focused on.  I just want my kids to have the best Dad that they can.

I’m going to be working on some plans for some things I intend to do with my son over the next few years.  I think it will be exciting, and I am looking forward to sharing it with some other men that I intend to bring into this to help me and to influence Zach as well.  There will be a lot of work, but I am looking forward to seeing it all come together.  From what I have heard about other fathers and sons that have done this, it should be a tremendous thing for us both.

Well, I think I will call this complete for tonight.  Just wanted to share some things that have been on my mind and in my heart lately.  If it helped somebody else, drop me a line and let me know.  I’d love to hear from you.  God Bless!

In HIS Grip,

Tom

Picture3

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

1 thought on “Meanderings”

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

