What Am I Hungry For?


untitled

“Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.” – Matthew 5:6

“We have little hunger for God.”

When I read that quote I was a little indignant and thought it was wrong.  I do have a hunger for God.  I have been making a lot of behavior changes lately because I do have a hunger for God.  But when I really think about it…  Yeah.  I see the truth in that.  I have been acutely aware lately of my physical body and what I am putting into it and how often.  I eat a minimum of three times a day, and too much of that is junk.  So, how am I feeding myself spiritually?

I have been having more regular quiet times.  I take 20 minutes to sit down with my Bible and I journal out what it says to me and how I should apply it to my life.  I get that done almost every day. Almost.  If I don’t forget. If I’m not too busy.  I feed my body better than that.

I have been reading more books with a spiritual influence.  It might be a book of Christian fiction or a book about living a stronger Christian life. Unless there is something on television I would rather watch. I snack more than that on real food.

I have been putting a greater emphasis on prayer in my life lately. I notice I always pray more when things are going poorly or if I want something… IS this how it is supposed to be?

When I look at all of these things together I am forced to see that I am not looking for opportunities to feed myself in the righteousness of God like I feed my gut. If my spiritual diet were to replace my physical one I would be a withered husk.  Maybe that is why I feel that way spiritually sometimes.

So, what is a person to do about this?  Can I do enough?  I’m not sure I can ever do enough in this, but I know that I need to do more.   I think fasting might need to become something I need to adopt as a spiritual discipline in my life.  I know, I was raised a Baptist, and that is almost like saying that Satan is misunderstood, but that would put a greater focus on my spiritual feeding by denying my physical desire.

If nothing else, I need to take a more disciplined approach at feeding myself at God’s table.  I want to be satisfied as only He can fill me.

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

