Well, What Am I waiting For?


frog-wallpaper_154129-1920x1080

I read a devotional today that talked about Pharaoh and the plague of the frogs:

Then Pharaoh called Moses and Aaron and said, “Plead with the LORD to take away the frogs from me and from my people, and I will let the people go to sacrifice to the LORD.” Moses said to Pharaoh, “Be pleased to command me when I am to plead for you and for your servants and for your people, that the frogs be cut off from you and your houses and be left only in the Nile.” And he said, “Tomorrow.” Moses said, “Be it as you say, so that you may know that there is no one like the LORD our God. (Exodus 8:8-10 ESV)

The writer pointed out something I had never noticed before, and it really got me thinking.  This guy has frogs in his bed, on his table, in his chair – everywhere, and what does he say when Moses asks when he wants them gone? Tomorrow.  What!?  Where is the sense in that?  Think about being knee deep in frogs wherever you walk and when offered a reprieve you say, “Give me another 12-24 hours and then take them away. “  I don’t understand how anyone can be that ridiculous.

Or do I?

The frog was one of the many gods that the Egyptians worshiped.  It is possible that Pharaoh was not just screaming for relief because he was hedging his bets.  “Maybe this `Almighty God’ Moses is rambling on about is the real deal, but maybe not.  I’ll give my lord bullfrog a chance to put things right first and see what happens.”  Ridiculous.  Why would someone put their faith in something that is obviously not working?

I do it all the time.  Rather than yielding to what God has asked me to do and embracing Him I ask for a 24-hour grace period to evaluate my situation just in case my other god (me) can pull something off.  I will do things under my power and in my own wisdom.  I will ignore the help of other people or their counsel.  I will act as if God will not get involved in my life and just do things myself.  *Ribbitt*

There is another little thing there that I liked too.  God leads Moses to let Pharaoh have his time.  God is up to that challenge, and He knows the outcome.  God knows where I am going to end up after my time of self-worship and He waits there for me. Not to gloat, and not to berate, but to dress my wounds and to encourage me for the next time I choose my way over His.  He waits to draw me back in and to grow me for the next time.

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

