Trials


We’ve been through some stuff lately in our lives.  We have had surgery, major vehicle repairs, and an emergency replacement of a vehicle.  We have had some difficult times with some relationships that have brought us great pain.  We have found ourselves over extended in the business of doing good things for many people.  All of this added up to a very burnt out family.  How did we get here?  What did we do to deserve this?

We can blame different things or people, but when it comes right down to it, there is a simple answer.  There’s not really anyone to blame. We struggle and we fight and we get worried or hurt, but these things are a normal part of life on this planet.  This is an imperfect world, and we are an imperfect people.  Our lives are supposed to have problems in them, and they are going to come either as a result of our behavior or, at times, in spite of our behavior.

Our focus needs to shift from our problems to what sustains us through them.  By looking to God for His strength, provision, and peace we can get through things that are not in our power to avoid.  He is there to lift us up and to carry us through that trial.  When we focus on growing closer to Him we alter our behavior by removing the barriers to a holy relationship with God.  This type of focused growth leads us away from some of the things that bring problems in to our lives that we might invite through an unfocused life.

I am not going to stand and say that I have it all together.  I am not going to say that I will not lose it or that I will not endure pain.  I will say that by God’s grace I am learning when to lean on God for things I can’t change and to ask Him for wisdom in avoiding my sinful attitudes that bring the trial I could avoid.  I’m in process.  I’m not done, and I am taking daily steps to intentionally live the life I was created to live and to be involved in the right things.

 

Author: Tom Tanner

I'm a follower of Christ, husband, and father. Over the last few years I have been learning how to dig deeper into God's Word and letting it influence more of my life. As I learn, try, fail, and repeat in this process I am seeing God's hand more and more in my life and that of my family as well. This journey is long, hard, and at times a little lonely, but living a Relentless life for Christ has rewards that reach beyond me and my family. My prayer is that it brings God glory and leaves a legacy that will show His influence in my life.

One thought on “Trials”

I would love to hear your comments here or e-mail them privately to myrelentlessgrowth@gmail.com

